Loading NuWatt Energy...
We use your location to provide localized solar offers and incentives.
We serve MA, NH, CT, RI, ME, VT, NJ, PA, and TX
Loading NuWatt Energy...
NuWatt designs, installs, and manages solar, battery, heat pump, and EV charger systems across 9 states. One company, one warranty, one point of contact.
Get a Free QuoteThe Valley has some of the strongest sun in Texas, and McAllen has a split most Texas cities do not: two utilities operating under two entirely different sets of rules inside one metro. Which one owns the line to your house decides what your solar is worth — before anyone measures the roof.
Installed solar in McAllen runs $2.05 to $2.45 per watt in 2026, so a 10 kW system lands between $20,500 and $24,500 before incentives. Check your utility first: AEP Texas Central addresses can shop a REP buyback plan, while Magic Valley Electric Cooperative does not buy back or roll forward any excess production at all.
McAllen sits at the affordable end of the Texas band, helped by a housing stock with straightforward roof geometry. Two things push individual quotes up: wind engineering for the mounting system, and older homes that need an electrical service upgrade before an array can be connected at all.
| System size | At $2.05/W | At $2.45/W |
|---|---|---|
| 6 kW | $12,300 | $14,700 |
| 8 kW | $16,400 | $19,600 |
| 10 kW | $20,500 | $24,500 |
| 12 kW | $24,600 | $29,400 |
| 14 kW | $28,700 | $34,300 |
The right-hand column applies Hidalgo County's 2.35% effective rate — the second-highest of the ten Texas metro counties tracked in this dataset, behind El Paso and ahead of Harris, Dallas and Bexar — to the mid-point of the McAllen price band. It is what the state exemption keeps off your tax bill in the early years.
No federal credit on a 2026 purchase. Section 25D expired December 31, 2025, so a cash or loan buyer receives nothing back from the IRS. Any McAllen proposal still netting 30% off the price is quoting a credit that no longer exists.
Check the bill before you read another line of any savings estimate. Two utilities serve the McAllen area under fundamentally different rules: AEP Texas Central Company as a delivery utility inside the competitive retail market, and Magic Valley Electric Cooperative as a member-owned co-op outside it. The difference is not a detail of billing. It changes the right size of your system.
On the co-op side, every kilowatt-hour you generate above what your home uses inside that billing cycle is worth exactly nothing — not carried, not credited, not paid. So the correct design target is your consumption curve, not your available roof. A quote that fills a Magic Valley roof with the same logic it would use in Dallas is selling you production that will be discarded, month after month, for twenty-five years.
On the AEP Texas Central side the calculus flips, because a buyback plan puts a price on the surplus. Same city, same sun, opposite advice. Start by confirming the utility on your bill, then read how Texas buyback plans compare if you are on the competitive side, or the co-op and municipal utility guide if you are not.
MVEC also requires a completed application and signed agreement reviewed by the co-op before any member-owned generation is installed, and reserves the right to refuse an installation that does not address its safety requirements. Confirm the current co-op policy directly with MVEC before you sign an install contract.
By roughly double, on the federal record. NREL's SolarTRACE dataset breaks completed residential rooftop projects down by permitting jurisdiction and serving utility, and McAllen is one of the few Texas cities where you can read two utilities against each other on identical local conditions. The permit and inspection medians are shared — those belong to the jurisdiction — while the two interconnection phases diverge sharply.
| Jurisdiction & utility | Cohort | Permit review | Utility pre-install | Inspection wait | Final IX → PTO |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| City of McAllen · AEP Texas Central Company (TCC) | 2022 · 11 installs | not reported | 6 d | 33 d | 8 d |
| City of McAllen · Magic Valley Electric Coop Inc (MVEC) | 2022 · 11 installs | not reported | 14 d | 33 d | 20 d |
| Hidalgo County · AEP Texas Central Company (TCC) | 2022 · 22 installs | 26 d | 6 d | 28.5 d | 8 d |
| Hidalgo County · Green Mountain Energy Company | 2022 · 22 installs | 26 d | not reported | 28.5 d | 6 d |
| Hidalgo County · Magic Valley Electric Coop Inc (MVEC) | 2022 · 22 installs | 26 d | 14 d | 28.5 d | 20 d |
| Texas, all jurisdictions | 2024 · 2673 installs | 4 d | 3 d | 5 d | 4 d |
Fourteen days of pre-install review against six, and twenty days to permission-to-operate against eight. Same city, same installers, same paperwork — the difference is whose interconnection queue you are in.
Twenty-six days of plan review on Hidalgo County jurisdiction addresses, against a 4-day Texas median. The federal file reports no permit median for the City of McAllen itself, so that cell reads “not reported” rather than fast.
These rows rest on 11 city and 22 county completed installs, above the threshold at which NREL publishes a jurisdiction but not large. Read them as the shape of the local process rather than as a schedule commitment.
One row will look odd: the federal file records the utility of record for each completed project, and in a competitive market that is sometimes the retail provider rather than the delivery utility — which is why a retail brand appears alongside AEP Texas Central and Magic Valley in the Hidalgo County rows. The table reproduces the dataset as published rather than tidying it. Local permit fees sit in the $50-$100 band and applications are handled online. The step most likely to surprise you is the one nobody quotes: the inspection wait, which every City of McAllen row shares at a 33-day median.
Source: NREL SolarTRACE Dataset v9-9-2025 (data.nlr.gov), median timelines for 0-10kW residential PV. Medians for the reporting year shown, not commitments; empty cells in the federal file appear as “not reported”.
The Rio Grande Valley sits with far West Texas at the top of the state's solar resource, so each installed watt returns more here than in DFW or East Texas. It is the structural advantage McAllen holds over every market north of it, and it partly offsets a weaker export picture on the co-op side.
McAllen is hurricane-exposed but sits well inland of the coast, so the engineering issue is uplift on the mounting system rather than salt-air corrosion. Ask for the attachment schedule and the racking engineering for the local design wind speed.
A share of the Valley's older housing stock needs an electrical service upgrade before a system can be interconnected at all. Find that out during the site survey, not after the contract, because it is a four-figure line item that appears late in careless quotes.
A high county rate normally works against a homeowner. On solar it works for you, because Texas exempts the entire appraised value the system adds — so the higher the local rate, the more the exemption is worth. File Form 50-123 with the Hidalgo County appraisal district by April 30 of the year after installation, and re-file if you later add panels or a battery.
Model your own consumption first. If you are on the co-op, pay closest attention to how much of the production your household would actually use.
Estimate your solar cost, payback period, and 25-year savings for any major TX metro.
Federal Residential Solar Tax Credit (Section 25D) Expired
Homeowners who purchase solar with cash or a loan receive $0 in federal tax credits. Section 25D expired December 31, 2025.
CenterPoint delivery area. Deregulated — choose a solar buyback REP for best export value. High humidity reduces panel efficiency slightly. Strong solar irradiance despite cloud cover. Largest TX solar market by installed capacity.
Cost Range
$2.00–$2.40/W
Peak Sun Hours
5.3 hrs/day
Avg Electric Rate
$0.14/kWh
County Tax Rate
2.31%
Annual Production
15,476
kWh/year
Annual Savings
$1,800
per year
Payback Period
12.2
years
25-Year Savings
$65,627
total
Estimates based on average 2026 TX solar pricing, 5.3 peak sun hours/day, 0.5%/year panel degradation, 3%/year electricity rate increase, and TX property tax exemption (Tax Code §11.27). Actual costs vary by installer, roof condition, and system configuration. Section 25D residential ITC expired Dec 31, 2025 — $0 federal tax credit for cash/loan purchases.
Verified August 2026 against Magic Valley Electric Cooperative's published distributed generation policy and the NREL SolarTRACE release cited above. Co-op policies can change — confirm the current terms with MVEC before signing.
We check which company serves your address first, because on this side of the state that answer changes the design.