Loading NuWatt Energy...
We use your location to provide localized solar offers and incentives.
We serve MA, NH, CT, RI, ME, VT, NJ, PA, and TX
Loading NuWatt Energy...
NuWatt designs, installs, and manages solar, battery, heat pump, and EV charger systems across 9 states. One company, one warranty, one point of contact.
Get a Free QuoteLubbock spent eight years moving onto the ERCOT grid and finished the job in 2024, when Lubbock Power & Light stopped selling electricity and became the wires company. The market changed underneath every guide written before then — and the federal permitting record shows a city that clears a solar permit in a day and then takes a month to let you switch the system on.
Installed solar in Lubbock runs $2.05 to $2.45 per watt in 2026, so a 10 kW system lands between $20,500 and $24,500 before incentives. Since March 2024 Lubbock has been a retail-choice market: LP&L delivers the power and handles interconnection, but a Retail Electric Provider sells you energy and sets your solar export credit.
Lubbock sits at the affordable end of the Texas price band, and the reasons are physical rather than promotional: flat lots, negligible shading and straightforward roof geometry all cut design and labour hours. What moves a Lubbock quote up is not complexity but hardware — wind-rated racking and a denser attachment schedule.
| System size | At $2.05/W | At $2.45/W |
|---|---|---|
| 6 kW | $12,300 | $14,700 |
| 8 kW | $16,400 | $19,600 |
| 10 kW | $20,500 | $24,500 |
| 12 kW | $24,600 | $29,400 |
| 14 kW | $28,700 | $34,300 |
The right-hand column applies Lubbock County's 2.02% effective rate to the mid-point of the Lubbock price band. It is what the Texas solar exemption keeps off your bill in the early years, before the appraised value of the system starts to depreciate.
No federal credit on a purchase in 2026. Section 25D expired December 31, 2025. A quote that still nets 30% off a cash or loan price is quoting a credit that no longer exists. What replaced it.
A Retail Electric Provider you pick — not LP&L. This is the single most important thing to get right about Lubbock solar, because it is recent enough that plenty of published advice still describes the old municipal arrangement. Retail service transferred to competitive providers in March 2024, and LP&L became the city's transmission and distribution service provider.
The Public Utility Commission of Texas approved LP&L’s application to move its load into ERCOT, opening an eight-year integration programme.
The larger share of LP&L’s load transferred out of the Southwest Power Pool and into ERCOT.
ERCOT confirmed the final phase, which it described as the largest single transfer of customers in its history and the first major Texas city to integrate in nearly 25 years.
Retail service transferred to competitive Retail Electric Providers. LP&L stopped selling electricity and became Lubbock’s transmission and distribution service provider.
Practical consequence for a solar shopper: treat energy plan and solar install as two separate decisions with two different counterparties. Get the LP&L interconnection application moving through your installer, and separately confirm in writing with your chosen provider what it credits for exported energy in the LP&L delivery zone. Reading how Texas buyback plans are structured first will tell you which questions to ask.
Because the delay has moved to the back of the project. NREL's SolarTRACE dataset records median calendar days for each phase of a completed residential rooftop install, by jurisdiction and serving utility. Lubbock clears plan review in a median of one day — a quarter of the Texas median — then spends far longer than the state on the two steps that come after the panels are up. Among Texas jurisdictions with a comparable install cohort, no other has a gap this wide between how fast it permits and how slowly it energises.
| Utility of record | Cohort | Permit review | Utility pre-install | Inspection wait | Final IX → PTO |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| City of Lubbock - (TX) | 2024 · 212 installs | 1 d | 1 d | 18 d | 33 d |
| South Plains Electric Coop Inc | 2024 · 212 installs | 1 d | not reported | 18 d | not reported |
| Texas, all jurisdictions | 2024 · 2673 installs | 4 d | 3 d | 5 d | 4 d |
A one-day median plan review is not a rounding error — it is a functioning permit desk, at a quarter of the state median. If your installer tells you the City of Lubbock is holding up the drawings, the federal record says that is unusual and worth a question.
Thirty-three days from final interconnection to permission-to-operate, against four statewide, plus an 18-day inspection wait against five. Budget for a working system sitting switched off for several weeks after the crew leaves, and do not let anyone book your savings from install day.
The Lubbock rows come from a 2024 cohort of 212 completed residential installs — the largest 2024 cohort of any Texas jurisdiction in the file. NREL publishes a jurisdiction at roughly ten, so this is around twenty times the floor: a settled local pattern rather than a handful of outliers.
The second row is the co-op that also serves part of the Lubbock permitting jurisdiction. It shares the city's permit and inspection medians, because those belong to the AHJ rather than the utility, and the federal file reports no interconnection figures for it — which is why those cells read “not reported” rather than zero. Permit fees locally sit in the $50-$100 band.
Source: NREL SolarTRACE Dataset v9-9-2025 (data.nlr.gov), median timelines for 0-10kW residential PV. Medians for the reporting year shown, not commitments.
It sets the attachment schedule, and that is where a cheap Lubbock quote usually gives itself away. Racking on the South Plains has to be engineered for the local design wind load, which in practice means more roof penetrations, shorter rail spans and more attention to edge and corner zones than the same array would need on the Gulf Coast.
Two quotes for the same array can differ by dozens of roof attachments. That difference is engineering, not margin.
Uplift is highest at roof perimeters. A layout that crowds the edges to fit one more module is buying production with risk.
Flat terrain and almost no mature canopy mean Lubbock roofs rarely lose production to shading — the design problem here is holding the array down, not finding sun.
Texas exempts the full appraised value a solar device adds to a home, so the array can raise what the house is worth without raising what you are taxed on. It is not automatic: file Form 50-123 with the Lubbock Central Appraisal District by April 30 of the year after installation, and re-file if you later add panels or a battery.
Use your own consumption and the plan you are actually on, not a statewide average.
Estimate your solar cost, payback period, and 25-year savings for any major TX metro.
Federal Residential Solar Tax Credit (Section 25D) Expired
Homeowners who purchase solar with cash or a loan receive $0 in federal tax credits. Section 25D expired December 31, 2025.
CenterPoint delivery area. Deregulated — choose a solar buyback REP for best export value. High humidity reduces panel efficiency slightly. Strong solar irradiance despite cloud cover. Largest TX solar market by installed capacity.
Cost Range
$2.00–$2.40/W
Peak Sun Hours
5.3 hrs/day
Avg Electric Rate
$0.14/kWh
County Tax Rate
2.31%
Annual Production
15,476
kWh/year
Annual Savings
$1,800
per year
Payback Period
12.2
years
25-Year Savings
$65,627
total
Estimates based on average 2026 TX solar pricing, 5.3 peak sun hours/day, 0.5%/year panel degradation, 3%/year electricity rate increase, and TX property tax exemption (Tax Code §11.27). Actual costs vary by installer, roof condition, and system configuration. Section 25D residential ITC expired Dec 31, 2025 — $0 federal tax credit for cash/loan purchases.
Verified August 2026 against the ERCOT and PUCT records of the Lubbock market transition and the NREL SolarTRACE release cited above.
Wind-rated mounting, LP&L interconnection, and an honest date for permission-to-operate.